Japan’s goal was cool? Former referees evaluate controversial move

Japan’s 2-1 victory over Spain, in a game valid for the last round of Group E of the World Cup, was marked by a controversial move involving the refereeing of the Portuguese player Victor Gomes.

The move in question took place in the 2nd half and decreed the turnaround in the scoreboard for the Asians, who managed to advance to the round of 16 of the tournament as leaders of the group.

The controversy started when Doan crossed low and Mitoma stretched out, already on the bottom line, to return the ball to the middle β€” Tanaka completed for the nets and the goal was validated by the referee.

The problem is that, when Mitoma gave the assist, some images registered the ball outside the field of play. The aerial camera, however, showed that part of the sphere could be, by a matter of millimeters, in the direction of the lineπŸ‡§πŸ‡·

O UOL spoke with some former referees about the subject to understand if Victor Gomes acted correctly when validating the move.

“There is a conclusive image with the naked eye. In it, the ball appears with a minimal part on the line, therefore, it is in play and the goal was legal. We cannot analyze the contact with the ground, but the projection of its diameterπŸ‡§πŸ‡· That’s what counts. If there is a minimum on the line, it remains in play, it will only be out of play if it leaves completely”, said Emidio Marques, famous referee of Brazilian football between the 70s and 80s. Mundo: “analyzing the set of what I’ve seen so far, I’m left with 6, more than regular.”

The opinion regarding the move is the same as that of Carlos EugΓͺnio Simon, who refereed three World Cups and is now a commentator for Disney channels. “I saw it from several angles and, in one of them, the ball didn’t come out completely. Even though it was 0.001% [dentro]by rule, is at stake, therefore, a legal goal.”

“The impression is that the ball went out, but then the VAR will look at the goal and can interfere. As the rule says that part of the ball has to be on the line and it is a sphere, it does not need to touch the line. who interpreted the arbitration is that she was a little, even 1 centimeter, over the line. She doesn’t need to touch [na grama]”, said Alfredo Loebeling, also a former Brazilian referee.

Japan's comeback goal against Spain raised doubts as to whether the ball came out - Reproduction - Reproduction

Japan’s comeback goal against Spain raised doubts as to whether the ball went out

Image: Reproduction

Guilherme Ceretta argued that, due to the fact that the images were not “conclusive”, the fact that the field decision prevailed was a compromise between those involved.

“Until proven otherwise, the ball did not go out. In these decisions, when the direct goal comes out, the VAR can interfere. If it is proven that the ball did not go out, it passed the test. Although the electronic part is only inside the crossbar , doesn’t have any conclusive pictures that prove she left. VAR, for this type of moment, got it right. Keep it up,” he began.

“There have already been situations of interpretation and the referees have failed too much. In this question of inside or outside, I think it will be 50% to 50%, but everyone knows that when the image is not conclusive, have to follow the decision of the field. I think it’s really cool the way this was handled, it was really good”, concluded Ceretta.

UOL News Copa features analysis of the Brazil vs Cameroon match, Tite’s reserve lineup, Dani Alves’ debut, classified countries, controversial VAR and more! Check out:

Source link

About Admin

Check Also

Newspaper places Flamengo as an exponent of Brazil in Europe in sales and says what is the next jewel that will earn millions for the club

The team announced this Monday (30) the sale of another one of its base jewels …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *