Luis Suarez’s nine is now owned by Darwin Nunez

from EFE

The national team of Uruguay announced the new owner of the famous number

Darwin Nunes will wear the number 9 jersey Uruguay national team in the first two games of the 2026 FIFA World Cup South American qualifier against Chile and Ecuador, on whose mission he had already briefed historical scorer Luis Suárez, who had not been called up by Marcelo Bielsa.

The Liverpool striker made the announcement to the press on Monday after arriving at Carrasco International Airport, from where he traveled to Complejo Celeste to begin work with teammates.

“I spoke to Suarez and told him that I want to play with a nine, that I will try my best, as he did with the national team,” Nunes stressed, adding that he greatly admires the current Gremio player and that he helped a lot during the 2022 Qatar World Cup.

He added that in this conversation, Suarez advised him to remain calm and asked him to accurately represent the number he used in almost every game he played. protecting Celeste.

“If it’s his turn to come back, then obviously the nine will be his,” Nunes said, while noting that it’s important not to score goals, but to consolidate a good game for Uruguay to add three.

The striker said he arrived at a good time after a solid pre-season, scoring two goals in 15 minutes against Newcastle United in the local league third round to start the last game.

He highlighted the fact that Bielsa’s 25-man list included many young players and only one over 30.

“I think there are enough young people now. Marcelo is betting on the youngest and we will try our best to present this Uruguayan team as the previous players have, and try to bring joy to all of Uruguay,” he said.

This Friday at 20:00 (23:00 GMT), Uruguay will face Chile at the Centenario Stadium in Montevideo at the start of the 2026 FIFA World Cup South American qualifier.

Paraguay-Peru, Colombia-Venezuela, Argentina-Ecuador and Brazil-Bolivia will also take place on the first date.

On September 12, La Celeste will visit Ecuador in Quito. Games will be played on the same day. Bolivia-ArgentinaVenezuela-Paraguay, Chile-Colombia and Peru-Brazil.

Source link

Leave a Comment